Friends of the Library 2021 AGM
President’s Report- February 10, 2020

In 2020, FoL opted for a simple project management system to manage multiple projects. In total, 16 projects were identified this year and substantial was made on a number of them such as the draft FoL By-law revisions, the 2021 Speaker Series and the Market Book Sale. Other projects are in various stages of completion as outlined below. It was understood that not all projects could be completed in the year they were identified, some are deferred to 2021, and some may not proceed for a variety of reasons. All of the project plans have recently numbered in an effort to make tracking and updating easier.

No. Project Plan Lead Status
2020-1 Strategic Plan Update Amery Boyer assisted by Jane Power-Grimm Complete & sent to AVRL
2020-2 Library Shelf Kamile Langstaff assisted by Ken Maher Suspended recently due to concerns over COVID-19
2020-3 Book Sale Lillian Stewart Scheduled for April 24,2021 to coincide with World Book and Copy         right Day
2020-4 Documentation of policies, procedures & processes Dorothy & Amery Outstanding
2020-5 FoL Endowment Fund Anna Kate Newman Outstanding
2020-6 Volunteer Recruitment No lead identified Outstanding
2020-7 By-law Review By-law Review Team:  Lillian Stewart, Spike et al Work complete for Dec 2, 2020 Board meeting
2020-8 Fundraising Proposed by Connie Arnold; no lead identified Outstanding
2020-9 Exploring the Potential for Children’s Programming


Proposed by Connie Arnold Outstanding
2020-10 Speaker Series Jane Power-Grimm & Lillian Stewart Completed for 2021 but on hold due to COVID-19
2020-11 Book Club Proposed by Connie Arnold Outstanding
2020-12 Identification of Library Needs   Completed
2020-13 Market Book Sales Linda Moffat Completed; $715.00 sold over 5 weeks as at Nov 3, 2020
2020-14 Board meeting & AGM Plan Linda Moffat Completed
2020-15 AGM   Completed Feb 10, 2021
2020-16 Overhaul of FoL meeting schedule Proposed by Anna Kate Newman Proposal accepted

The highlights for the past year for me, include the By-law review which will significantly help to simplify an overly complex organizational structure, the planning that went into the Speaker Series, the very successful market book sales, the updating of the FoL strategic plan, and the adoption of a project management system and a more streamlined meeting structure. I have very much enjoyed working with the members of the FoL Team who have nothing but passion and enthusiasm for what they do: “Books R Us!”.

Amery Boyer.  President


Friends of the Library 2019 AGM

The Friends of the Annapolis Royal Library held their AGM on January 22nd and what a turnout! Thanks to those who made their way out on such a chilly evening. Special thanks to new members.

After many years of service we had three volunteers retire from our executive. 

David Tinker served multiple terms as Board Chair. We thank David for his tireless enthusiasm for the library, his knowledge about libraries, his help in planning speaker series, as well as hosting executive meetings, and chairing board elections. Thank you, David.

Derek Hawkins, our Treasurer, has handled our fundraised monies and grants with extreme care and professionalism. Special thanks go to Derek for these past couple of years when the bookkeeping got much more complicated with juggling our almost 200,000 in fundraised monies. The transparency in his accounting was so appreciated. Thank you, Derek.

In addition, Linda Moffat, our longstanding President, retired from her position. Linda worked for many, MANY years passionately for the library and these past few years spent countless hours working with Town of Annapolis Royal and Jost Architects Ltd to plan, fundraise, and design our new library. Linda has done it all for the Friends – sorted books on frozen afternoons for our booksales, met with various levels of government presenting our library project, and as recently as last week – showing up with her own hammer and hanging more artwork in the new space. Linda will now serve as Board Chair for the Friends group. Thank you, Linda.

It is very easy to say that without these volunteers we wouldn’t be standing in our new library. The speed in which we executed the whole project from day one of fundraising to the opening is truly incredible.

Please welcome our new 2019 executive…

Linda Moffatt – Board Chair (2 year position)
Lillian Stewart – President
Lesley Macdonald – Vice President
Anna Kate Newman – Treasurer
Jane Power-Grimm – Secretary
Jon Percy – Membership Coordinator/ Website Maintenance (ex officio)


2015 AGM Draft Minutes [In WP Word Format *.doc]
Note: these are draft minutes subject to ratification at the next AGM